2014 IEEE Vehicular Networking Conference (VNC)

Vehicular networking and communication systems is an area of significant importance in our increasingly connected and mobile world. Effective vehicular connectivity techniques can significantly enhance efficiency of travel, reduce traffic incidents and improve safety, mitigate the impact of congestion, and overall provide a more comfortable experience. Towards this goal, the 2014 IEEE Vehicular Networking Conference (VNC) seeks to bring together researchers, professionals, and practitioners to present and discuss recent developments and challenges in vehicular networking technologies, and their applications.

This year's conference will be held at the Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum, the world's largest computer museum, located in Paderborn, Germany. Get more information.

Best paper awards

The 2014 IEEE Vehicular Networking Conference congratulates
  • Best full paper: Measurement-based Evaluation of Cooperative Awareness for V2V and V2I Communication
    Mate Boban (NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany); Pedro M. d'Orey (NEC Europe Ltd. & Universidade do Porto, Germany)
  • Best full paper runner-up: Adaptive Beaconing for Congestion and Awareness Control in Vehicular Networks
    Miguel Sepulcre (Toyota InfoTechnology Center, Japan); Javier Gozalvez (Universidad Miguel Hernandez de Elche, Spain); Onur Altintas and Haris Kremo (Toyota InfoTechnology Center, Japan)
  • Best short paper: In-vehicle UWB Channel Measurement, Model and Spatial Stationarity
    Jiri Blumenstein, Tomas Mikulasek and Roman Marsalek (Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic); Aniruddha Chandra (Brno University of Technology & National Institute of Technology, Durgapur, WB, Czech Republic); Ales Prokes (Brno University of Technology & Sensor, Information and Communication Systems Research Centre, Czech Republic); Thomas Zemen (FTW Telecommunications Research Center Vienna, Austria); Christoph F Mecklenbräuker (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
  • Best poster: Smart Networked Bicycles with Platoon Cooperation
    Sandra Céspedes (Universidad de Chile, Chile); Juan Salamanca, Juan Sacanamboy and Carlos Rivera (Icesi University, Colombia)
  • Best demo: A Recommendation Based Driver Assistance System to Mitigate Vehicular Traffic Shock Waves
    Raphael Frank and Markus Forster (University of Luxembourg, Luxemburg)


Next year's VNC conference will be hosted in Kyoto, Japan. Onur Altintas, Toyota ITC, and Frank Kargl, Ulm University, will serve as general co-chairs. More details on location and committees will be announced soon on this page.

Keynote speakers

P. R. Kumar

P. R. Kumar

P. R. Kumar holds the College of Engineering Chair in Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University. His current research is focused on energy systems, wireless networks, secure networking, automated transportation, and cyberphysical systems. He obtained his B. Tech. from IIT Madras, and his D.Sc. from Washington University, St. Louis. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering of the USA, and a fellow of the World Academy of Sciences. He was awarded an honorary doctorate by the ETH, Zurich. He received the Outstanding Contribution Award of ACM SIGMOBILE, the IEEE Field Award for Control Systems, the Donald P. Eckman Award of the American Automatic Control Council, and the Fred W. Ellersick Prize of the IEEE Communications Society. He is an ACM Fellow and a Fellow of IEEE. He was awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award from IIT Madras, the Alumni Achievement Award from Washington University in St. Louis, and the Daniel C. Drucker Eminent Faculty Award from the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois. He is an Honorary Professor at IIT Hyderabad, and a D. J. Gandhi Distinguished Visiting Professor at IIT Bombay.

Katrin Sjöberg

Katrin Sjöberg

Katrin Sjöberg is a connected vehicle technology specialist at Advanced Technology & Research, Volvo Group Trucks Technology in Sweden. For over a decade, she has been working in the field of wireless communication and her research interests range from channel modeling to applications for vehicular networks. She is very active in the CAR 2 CAR Communication Consortium (C2C-CC) and in the European standardization on cooperative intelligent transport systems (C-ITS) within ETSI Technical Committee on ITS (ETSI TC ITS). In April 2013, she defended her PhD thesis entitled "Medium Access Control for Vehicular Ad Hoc Networks".

Industry Panel

Chaired by Fan Bai, General Motors, USA, and Michael Wagner, Adam Opel AG, Germany, the industry panel brings together leading industry experts.
Fan Bai, General Motors
Michael Wagner, Adam Opel AG
Tim Leinmüller, DENSO AUTOMOTIVE Deutschland GmbH
Andre Rolfsmeier, dSPACE
Katrin Sjöberg, Volvo
Jim Lansford, CSR Technologies
Hsin-Mu (Michael) Tsai, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Current updates

December 9, 2014 Best paper awards and VNC 2015 location are announced on this page.

October 30, 2014 Conference registration is open now. Register before November 23 to get the early bird discount.

October 13, 2014 Katrin Sjöberg, Volvo, agreed to give the industry keynote.

October 10, 2014 Check the preliminary program page for details on our keynotes, industry panel, and an IEEE Young Professional Event hosted at VNC.

October 10, 2014 Selected papers will be considered for publication in a special issue of the Elsevier Ad Hoc Networks journal.

October 6, 2014 Poster and Demo submission deadline extended to October 15. Submit now.

September 19, 2014 Hotel information is available on the venue page.

September 8, 2014 Submission for full and short papers closed.

August 22, 2014 PR Kumar, Texas A&M University agreed to give the academic keynote.

July 8, 2014 Call for posters and demos published.

April 25, 2014 Call for papers published.

Important dates

Poster/Demo Submissions Deadline: October 15, 2014 (extended)

Acceptance Notification: October 25, 2014 (full and short papers), October 27, 2014 (posters and demos)
Camera-Ready Paper Due: November 10, 2014 (all papers, posters, and demos)

Go to the VNC 2013 website.